Shopping in United States?       Visit us.red.com

We have set cookies in your browser to help make this website better.

You can find more information about our use of cookies and how we protect your personal information in our   隐私政策 .

Your web browser has problems displaying this site.

Make sure you are using the latest version of your browser or consider using   Download Google Chrome Google Chrome   或   Download Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox .

Seika

To better serve our Japanese customers, you may now purchase RED products in Japan using the contact information below.

Fulfillment of all RED products will be administered by our agent in Japan.

Contact Email: redjapan@red.com

Phone: +81-3-6206-1658
+81-3-6206-1659


Monday-Friday, 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Bosch Bldg AKASAKA, 2-13-1 Nagatacho, Chiyoda-ku,
Tokyo, Japan
100-0014

If you would like to purchase directly from RED in the US, visit the RED US web store.

采用 HDRx 的高动态范围视频


高动态范围 (HDR) 成像是将多次曝光结合到单个帧的强大技术,该帧包含了整个集合的亮度范围。此技术是剧照摄影中的既成技术,但最近才发展成为动作捕捉中可能使用的技术,在动作捕捉中,该应用更加广泛。

背景

摄像机的动态范围描述了主体强度在被录成毫无特色的黑色或白色画面前的变化程度。因此,增加动态范围可提高曝光和后期制作的灵活性,扩大戏剧性场面和照明不均的场面的拍摄可能性,并提升图像质量和细节。

动态范围通常用档数指定,每增加一个单位即表示动态范围加倍。目前的 RED 摄像机在标准模式下可捕捉逾 13 档的动态范围,这不仅超过了高端数码单反 (DSLR) 相机,还可与彩色胶卷底片相比肩。虽然这对大多数应用而言已经绰绰有余,但通常还是多多益善。

为有效扩展摄像机可捕捉的动态范围,许多摄影师采用渐变中灰密度 (GND) 减光镜。这种途径通常用于简单的强度等级,如从深色树叶向景观场景下的明亮天空进行线性渐移时。但是,GND 渐变镜在捕捉画面前必须进行物理固定,且不能处理带门廊、窗户和其他照明不均的几何体的场景。

要克服这些限制,剧照师创造了一种名为高动态范围 (HDR) 成像的技术,该技术利用多次曝光和三脚架装摄像机。这样就有能力处理实际中具有任何照明条件的几何体,可在后期制作中实现完全定制。然而,HDR 在视频摄像机应用中比较难以捉摸,部分原因是由于这需要特殊用途的电子产品和软件。此外,主流剧照 HDR 工具已成为一种和动态范围扩展截然相反的艺术风格,因此他们看起来并不总是尽如人意或现实逼真。

工作原理

HDRx® 是专为 REDEPICSCARLET 摄像机发明的专有 HDR 视频解决方案。其工作原理是在标准慢速摄影机记录一次曝光的时间间隔内记录两次曝光:

标准视频
支持 HDRx

首次曝光为正常曝光,使用标准光圈和快门设置("A 帧")。二次曝光通常为高光保护,使用增加 2-6 档的可调节快门速度("X 帧")。例如,如果 A 帧是在 24 fps 和 1/50 秒的快门速度下捕捉的,则设定 2 档的 HDRx 在快门速度为 1/200 秒时捕捉 X 帧。

于是,A 帧和 X 帧被记录为相同 R3D® 文件下的单独路径。最终结果是生成了可单独使用的两个视频流,或可结合组成一个比任何胶片材料更高的动态范围。

HDR 合并

REDCINE-X® 中的 HDR 合并原理是有效叠加 A 帧和 X 帧的色调级别:

这种方法产生的色调好比使用单次较高的动态范围曝光拍摄的,不同于往往看似人造的 HDR 剧照效果,这种效果则会显示晕圈和其他纹。此方法还保留了原来的色调层次结构,这意味着色调可精确映射回到线性光,以获得特效或定制 LUT。

合并的 A 帧和 X 帧

然而,每当您尝试将大于或等于 13-18 档的动态范围压缩至小于或等于 8-10 档的屏幕内时,除非采取其他措施,否则图像将显示为扁平图像。对比曲线、人工合成和自适应色调映射等工具都用来使高动态范围图像在标准屏幕上显示的更加自然。在 REDCINE-X 内,最简单的途径是采用更大的对比曲线:

通常情况下,只有在必要时尽可能不多不少地使用 HDRx 才能取得最优结果。HDRx 设置越高,由于 A 帧和 X 帧的共同点越少,则混合更加困难,RED 摄像机的动态范围已经相当之高,因此即便只有一点扩展也会过犹不及。在可能时,使用单次曝光获得最优曝光胜过使用 HDRx 弥补欠佳技术。同样地,在后期制作中,很容易过度发挥 HDR 效果。如果物体比原始场景的天空还暗,则如果在后期制作中逆转这种色调层次结构,则镜头会失去其真实感。

反之,有时更大的动态范围并非绝对必要,但会节约时间,降低制作成本。HDRx 能减少当天择时拍摄、使用大量 ND 滤镜或安装辅助照明的的几率。例如,移动汽车内的对话场景可能需要在窗户上安装 ND 滤镜,但如果使用 HDRx,汽车可无需改装。

控制运动模糊

另一项好处是 HDRx 还可以用来控制运动模糊,运动模糊与 A 帧和 X 帧之间的快门速度差成比例变化。例如,3 档的 HDRx 设置意味着 X 帧内的模糊距离是 A 帧内模糊距离的八分之一。

示例"A 帧"
对应的"X 帧"
HDRx Setting:  + 2+ 3+ 4+ 5+ 6

每个帧对可使用“简单混合”(图像的加权平均值)或“动态效果”(图像的动态结合版)进行合并。与借助闪光灯使用“前帘”同步塑造的效果类似,每个混合模式借助前缘的一个清晰元件和一个更加模糊的元件呈现运动。这种效果模拟了我们感知和回忆真实世界运动的方式。在标准帧率下,其结果是运动通常显得更加流畅,但不必像增加快门角度一样折损清晰度。

这使得摄影师能够在后期制作中调整运动模糊,这是之前只有在昂贵和耗时的视觉效果制作中才可能使用的功能。正如剧照中的运动模糊可使用闪光率和快门角度来控制一样,借助 HDRx,运动模糊可使用后期制作软件中的滑动器来控制。请注意,滑动器还会影响动态范围扩展的程度,从而还会影响图像对比度(如上所示)。

其他应用

还有不少其他的 HDRx 应用可能,但并非所有应用都与动态范围有关。此类应用包括:

高光保障。许多人只将 X 轨迹作为备用,以防止曝光过度时进行代价昂贵的翻拍。当拍摄场景含有戏剧性或快速变化的照明条件时,这点尤为有用,或曝光设置必须保持不变时,特别利于微速摄影工作。由于曝光不需要填补高光,它还能够降低图像噪点。

拉伸剧照。HDRx 最受欢迎的应用之一是使用 X 轨迹获得更清晰的剧照。虽然起初这些图像会更暗,但可以在后期制作中增加 ISO 设置,以弥补更大快门速度造成的任何少光效果。大多数人发现,为了达到这个目的,2-3 档的 HDRx 设置效果最佳。

运动跟踪。有时 X 帧也用来实现更精确的运动跟踪。由于运动模糊更少,跟踪计算可更好地估算每个物体的位置,从而也能估算其速度和帧之间的运动方向。这在动作捕捉应用中尤为有用。

过渡。另一种选择可以是与空间相对在时间上使用 HDRx 。例如,当从室内移至户外时,操作者可从 A 帧过渡到 X 帧。这在透镜孔径和景深需要保持不变时将会有用。

键控。X 帧的边缘越清晰,越能提高遮罩和键控质量,尤其是对在主题背景下移动的物体情境而言。

在实践中

大多数人将 A 帧用作正常曝光,将 X 帧用作曝光不足的高光保护帧。由于这种方式在 X 帧后来认为不必要时便于 HDRx 逆转,因此通常推荐使用此方式。然而,操作者还可采用“叠排式”拍摄,即 A 帧曝光过度,而 X 帧曝光不足(但反之不行)。如果除高光外,操作者希望在阴影中应用一些动态范围扩展,则可以采用此方式。

一旦捕捉完成,HDRx 文件将立刻被 REDCINE-X 识别,“HDR”标记将附加到其缩略图标题。HDRx 扩展设置可在文件的元数据中通过右击缩略图或文件名查看:

“查看”面板内的模块将变得可用,它控制着文件的显示和处理方式。可选择 HDR 模式单独显示 A 帧或 X 帧,或使用通过“简单混合”或“动态效果”获得的这些帧的合并版。后两种模式内的滑动器可有效决定合并后的 HDR 将显示的亮度。在简单混合工具内,滑动器控制着 A 帧和 X 帧的相对权重,这里的 0 设置表示它们具有同等权重,-1 或 +1 意味着输出分别全是 X 帧或全是 A 帧。在动态效果工具下,滑动器控制着亮度阈值,来自 A 帧的色调将优先于来自 X 帧的色调。

应用于任一帧的任何颜色分级将同时影响两者。要单独影响每个帧,或获得更复杂的混合帧,许多人使用第三方软件包(如 After Effects、Resolve 和 Scratch)进行额外分级。在这种情况下,HDRx 通常被认为是两个板块,需要与自动化处理相反的混合方式,正如有人可能考虑绿光屏拍摄一样。因此,运动模糊还需要比正常情况下更多的关注,因为如果它延伸到非常明亮或黑暗的区域内时,这可造成边缘纹。

无论如何,由于 HDRx 分别保存每个曝光对,因此后期制作的可能性几乎是无止境的。例如,如果操作者偏爱传统渐变 ND 镜的图像效果,那么这种效果可通过使用简单的线性渐变混合帧对实现数字应用。反之,操作者也可以创建一个定制遮罩以匹配其场景的照明几何体。如果希望达到剧照 HDR 效果,正如使用两个静止帧一样,这点也能够实现。

结果和结论

HDRx 是否是您拍摄的恰当工具可能会因其他注意事项而异。由于捕捉两倍之多的帧,存储和数据速率将相应增加一倍。这也意味着有效的最大帧率将变为您摄像机正常功能的一半。此外,为首次曝光指定较大的快门角度可以限制二次曝光可用的快门速度范围。

正如所有工具一样,HDRx 有适用于拍摄任务的情况,但有时其他工具可能是更好的选择。例如,不推荐在非常快速的主体运动或机身运动时使用 HDRx,正如任何正常胶片摄像机或数字摄像机在标准帧率下捕捉画面时不使用 HDRx 一样。有疑问时,请务必执行摄像机测试以评估 HDRx 是否适用于主体物质和制作中将进行的操作程序。

最后,新的工具扩展了创意可能性。许多以前在捕捉画面前必须做出的风格决策现在可以在后期制作中完成。在这方面,拥有 HDRx 功能就像拥有一台额外可用的新摄像机装置,而且正如创意工具一样它也是解决问题的工具。直到最近,摄影师仍然不得不思考使用曾经可用的 10-13 档(或更少)传统摄像机可能达到什么效果。而现在,有史以来第一次这些限制已经克服,我们正冒险进入未知的新领域。


We hope you have found this helpful. Please feel free to contact us at learn@red.com with any feedback or suggestions for new topics. Stay tuned for more…

Information is for educational use only. RED is providing this information "as is" and makes no representations regarding the outcome if the information is used. You are solely responsible for your reliance upon and use of the information presented here.

Shopping in China?       Visit cn.red.com

We have set cookies in your browser to help make this website better.

You can find more information about our use of cookies and how we protect your personal information in our   privacy policy .

Your web browser has problems displaying this site.

Make sure you are using the latest version of your browser or consider using   Download Google Chrome Google Chrome   Or   Download Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox .

High Dynamic Range Video with HDRx

May 09, 2013

High dynamic range (HDR) imaging is a powerful technique that combines multiple exposures into a single frame that encompasses the brightness range of the entire set. This has been an established technique with stills photography, but has only recently emerged as a possibility with motion capture—where the applications are even more expansive.

BACKGROUND

A camera’s dynamic range describes how much subject intensity can vary before being recorded as featureless black or white. Having a higher dynamic range therefore improves exposure and post-production flexibility, expands the possibilities for dramatic and unevenly-lit scenes, and enhances image quality and detail.

Dynamic range is typically specified in terms of stops, where each unit increase translates into a doubling of dynamic range. Current RED cameras capture over 13 stops of dynamic range in standard mode, which not only surpasses high-end DSLR cameras, but is also comparable to color film negatives. Although this is more than enough for most applications, sometimes even more is desired.

To effectively extend the dynamic range a camera can capture, many cinematographers employ graduated neutral density (GND) filters. This approach is typically used for simple intensity gradations, such as the linear transition from dark foliage to a brighter sky in landscape scenes. However, GND filters have to be physically positioned prior to capture, and cannot handle scenes with doorways, windows and other uneven lighting geometries.

To overcome these limitations, stills photographers created a technique called high dynamic range (HDR) imaging, which utilizes multiple exposures and a tripod-mounted camera. This has the power of handling virtually any lighting geometry, and is fully customizable in post-production. However, HDR has been elusive with video cameras, in part because this requires special-purpose electronics and software. Furthermore, mainstream stills HDR tools have become an artistic style as opposed to a dynamic range extension, so their look isn’t always desirable or realistic with cinema.

HOW IT WORKS

HDRx™ is a proprietary HDR video solution that was invented for RED’s EPIC and SCARLET cameras. It works by recording two exposures within the interval that a standard motion camera would record only one:

Standard Video
HDRx Enabled

The primary exposure is normal, and uses the standard aperture and shutter settings (the “A frame”). The secondary exposure is typically for highlight protection, and uses an adjustable shutter speed that is 2-6 stops faster (the “X frame”). For example, if the A frame is captured at 24 fps and 1/50 second shutter speed, then specifying 2 stops HDRx causes the X frame to be captured at a shutter speed of 1/200 second.

Both frames are then recorded as separate tracks within the same R3D file. The net result is two video streams that can be either used separately, or combined to encompass a higher dynamic range than any film stock.

MERGING FOR HDR

Merging for HDR in REDCINE-X works by effectively stacking the tonal levels from the A and X frames:

This approach produces tones that appear as though they were taken with a single higher dynamic range exposure, unlike the often artificial-looking HDR effect with stills that typically shows haloes and other artifacts. It also preserves the original tonal hierarchy, which means tones can be accurately mapped back to linear light for special effects or custom LUTs.

Merged A & X Frames

However, whenever you try to squeeze 13-18+ stops of dynamic range into a display with only 8-10 stops or less, the image will appear flat unless other measures are taken. Tools such as contrast curves, manual compositing and adaptive tone-mapping are all used to make high dynamic range images appear more natural on a standard display. Within REDCINE-X, the easiest approach is to apply a more aggressive contrast curve:

Optimal results are typically achieved by using only as much HDRx as necessary, and no more. A higher HDRx setting can make the blend more difficult since the A and X frames have less in common. The dynamic range of RED’s cameras is already quite high, so a little extension often goes a long way. When possible, it’s also always better to expose optimally using single exposures than to use HDRx to compensate for poor technique. Similarly, in post-production, it is easy to take the HDR effect too far. If an object was darker than the sky in the original scene, footage will lose its sense of realism if this tonal hierarchy is reversed in post-production.

Alternatively, sometimes having more dynamic range isn’t absolutely necessary, but instead saves time and reduces production costs. HDRx can decrease the chance of having to shoot at another time of day, use extensive ND filters or install additional lighting. Dialogue scenes within a moving car might require ND filters on the windows, for example, but with HDRx the car could remain unmodified.

CONTROLLING MOTION BLUR

An added benefit is that HDRx can also be used to control motion blur, which varies proportional to the shutter speed difference between the A and X frames. A 3-stop HDRx setting will mean that the blur distance in the X frame is an eighth of what it is in the A frame, for example.

Example “A Frame”
Corresponding “X Frame”
HDRx Setting:  + 2+ 3+ 4+ 5+ 6

Each frame pair can be merged using either a “simple blend,” which is a weighted average of the images, or “magic motion,” which is a motion conjoined version of the images. Similar to the effect created by using “first curtain” synchronization with a flash, each blending mode renders movement with both a sharp component and a more blurred component on the leading edge. This effect mimics how we perceive and recall real-world motion. At standard frame rates, the result is that motion typically appears smoother, but without necessarily compromising clarity as much as increasing the shutter angle.

This gives cinematographers the ability to adjust motion blur in post-production—a capability previously only possible with expensive and time-consuming visual effects. Just as motion blur in stills could be controlled using the flash ratio and shutter speed, with HDRx this can be controlled using a slider in post-production software. Note that the slider also affects the degree of dynamic range extension, and thus image contrast as well (as illustrated above).

OTHER APPLICATIONS

Many other HDRx possibilities exist, and not all have to do with dynamic range. Applications include:

Highlight Insurance. Many only use the X track as a backup to safeguard against costly re-shoots due to overexposure. This is particularly helpful when shooting scenes containing dramatic or rapidly changing lighting, or with time lapse work when exposure settings have to remain constant. It can also reduce image noise since exposures do not need to pad the highlights.

Pulling Stills. One of the most popular applications for HDRx is to use the X track for sharper stills. Although these images will initially appear darker, the ISO setting can be increased in post-production to compensate for any decrease in light from the faster shutter speed. Most find that an HDRx setting of 2-3 stops works best for this purpose.

Motion Tracking. The X frame is sometimes also used to achieve more accurate motion tracking. Since there is less motion blur, tracking algorithms can better estimate each object’s position, and thus also their speed and direction of motion between frames. This can be particularly helpful with motion capture applications.

Transitions. Another option could be to utilize HDRx temporally as opposed to spatially. For example, one could transition from the A frame to the X frame when moving from indoors to outdoors. This would be helpful if the lens aperture and depth of field needed to remain constant.

Keying. The sharper edges in the X frame can improve mask or keying quality, especially for situations with a moving subject against a backdrop.

IN PRACTICE

Most use the A frame as a normal exposure and the X frame as the under-exposed highlight protection frame. This is generally recommended since it makes HDRx easily reversible if the X frames are later deemed unnecessary. However, one could instead shoot “over-under,” where the A frame is overexposed and the X frame is underexposed (but less so than otherwise). One might do this if they wanted to apply some of the dynamic range extension to the shadows in addition to just the highlights.

Once captured, HDRx files will be immediately recognized by REDCINE-X, and an “HDR” label will get appended to their thumbnail title. The HDRx extension setting can also be viewed within the file’s metadata by right-clicking on the thumbnail or filename:

A section within the “look” panel will become available which gives control over how to display and process the file. The HDR mode can be selected to show either the A or X frame alone, or to use a merged version of these frames with either a simple blend or with magic motion. The slider within the last two modes effectively determines how bright the merged HDR will appear. Within the simple blend tool, the slider controls the relative weight of the A and X frames, where a setting of 0 gives them equal weight and -1 or +1 means the output is entirely the X or A frame, respectively. With the magic motion tool, the slider controls the lightness threshold where tones from the A frame will take precedence over those in the X frame.

Any color grading applied to either frame will affect both. To affect each frame separately, or for more complex blending, many perform additional grading using third party packages such as After Effects, Resolve and Scratch. In that case, HDRx is often thought of as two plates that need blending as opposed to an automated process – much as one would think about shooting for a green screen. Motion blur may therefore also require more attention than normal, since this can create edge artifacts if it extends into very bright or dark regions.

Regardless, since HDRx preserves each exposure pair separately, the post-production possibilities are virtually endless. For example, if one prefers the look of a traditional graduated ND filter, this effect can be applied digitally by blending frame pairs using a simple linear gradient. Alternatively, one could create a custom mask to match the lighting geometry of their scene. If the stills HDR effect is desired, this can also be implemented just as it would with two stills frames.

COMPLICATIONS & CONCLUSIONS

Whether HDRx is the right tool for your shoot may depend on other considerations. Since twice as many frames are captured, storage and data rate requirements will correspondingly double. This also means that the effective maximum frame rate will become half of your camera’s normal capabilities. In addition, specifying a large shutter angle for the primary exposure may limit the range of shutter speeds available with the secondary exposure.

As with any tool, there are situations where HDRx is well-suited to the task, but other times when another tool would be a better option. Very rapid subject motion or camera movements are not recommended, for example, just as with any normal film or digital cinema camera capturing at standard frame rates. When in doubt, always perform your own camera tests to assess whether HDRx works with the subject matter and workflow you’ll have in production.

Ultimately though, a new tool expands the creative possibilities. Many of the stylistic decisions that previously had to be made prior to capture can now be made in post-production. In that respect, having an HDRx capability is a lot like always having an additional camera rig available, and is just as much a problem-solving tool as it is a creative tool. Until recently, cinematographers also had to think in terms of what was possible using the traditional 10-13 stops (or less) that had been available. Now, for the first time, these constraints are being lifted and we are venturing into unexplored territory.

FURTHER READING


We hope you have found this helpful. Please feel free to contact us at learn@red.com with any feedback or suggestions for new topics. Stay tuned for more…

Information is for educational use only. RED is providing this information "as is" and makes no representations regarding the outcome if the information is used. You are solely responsible for your reliance upon and use of the information presented here.